Posted by: Jenn | April 9, 2009

The past months in food

Firstly, eating out.

One of our new favorites: Wayne’s Chicago Red Hots 3901 N.E. Martin Luther King Blvd

These are our two favorite dog orders, but man are their fries good, too! Douse the regular ones with malted vinegar, or order a Solider Field–fries smothered in cheese and peppers. Yums!

Maxwell Street: Polish with kraut and grilled onions

Maxwell Street: Polish with spicy mustard and grilled onions

Combo Pups: Chicago style keeps the chili n' cheese company

Combo Pups: Chicago style keeps the chili n' cheese company

An utter disappointment: Saburo’s Sushi 1667 SE Bybee Boulevard

This place is constantly overflowing, and we’ve been trying to make time to wait out the line for awhile. But I can easily say I’ll never go back. The miso and tempura were quite good, but the sushi left me entirely underwhelmed. I coined it “lazy sushi” because the pieces were gargantuan. We’re talking sashimi over 1.5cm thick! Are a couple extra knife strokes really that onerous!? I strongly prefer small pieces that easily comprise a single bite–all the better to enjoy flavors and textures melding together. Oh, and the serivce was pretty crappy, too.

Sashimi the size of Texas!

Sashimi the size of Texas!

My beloved Unagi. Yet, I cannot finish half an eel. Well, maybe if I'd passed on the tempura.

My beloved Unagi. Yet, I cannot finish half an eel. Well, maybe if I'd passed on the tempura.

I feel like his name should be Geoff. Hello, Geoff, tasty waistcoast you're wearing!

I feel like his name should be Geoff. Hello, Geoff, tasty waistcoast you're wearing!

Secondly, the domestic preparations.

New Year's Day: Ham, roast potatoes and ricotta mint peas.

New Year's Day: Ham, roast potatoes and ricotta mint peas.

Lemon almond ricotta muffins. Ridiculously amazing texture!

Lemon almond ricotta muffins. Ridiculously amazing texture!

Mediterranean Feast: cous cous, tumeric chicken, tomato olive salad, and dolmas

Mediterranean Feast: cous cous, tumeric chicken, tomato olive salad, and dolmas

Soda Farls I: English breakfast for dinner, but with American bacon

Soda Farls I: English breakfast for dinner, but with American bacon

Soda Farls I: Roasted tomatoes, it's your time to shine!

Soda Farls I: Roasted tomatoes, it's your time to shine!

Soda Farls II: Playing back up to some soothing chicken noodle soup.

Soda Farls II: Playing back up to some soothing chicken noodle soup (sorry this pictures sucks)

Unbaked raspberry macadamia white chocolate blondies. Gone too fast to get a picture once they emerged from the oven.

Unbaked raspberry macadamia white chocolate blondies. Gone too fast to get a picture once they emerged from the oven!

The unpictured kids are:

  • two iterations of the yummiest buttermilk biscuits ever
  • maple macadamia blondies
  • creme brulee with fresh vanilla beans (sans the brulee–we had a blow torch FAIL)
  • doubtless, other things that just didn’t make that much of an impression; there was definitely one with chopped bacon…

Finally, Crawford’s diet

Evo Red Meat Small Bites

Evo Red Meat Small Bites

…and occasionally puppeh treats, peanut butter, and the highest bribe- string cheese. I wonder if he knows what he’s missing?

Responses

  1. Wow! I’m amazed by the extent of your variations!
    The blondies and muffins look Wonderful!
    Sorry, I couldn’t joint you for dinner on all items!!
    Is that brown paper around the muffins??
    XXXXXXXXOOOOOOOOXXXXXXXXXMo

  2. It’s parchment paper. I didn’t have muffin tins, but I liked the rustic look of this better anyway. I just (painstakingly) cut them into circles, folded them to have square bottoms, and dropped the batter in.


Leave a Reply

Categories

